Samba no Chat

Mardi-Grass
Mardi-Grass

It´s Carnival Season and for the second time within the last 12 months, I feel like I can get away with looking as opposed to RL as possible and you can´t imagine how much fun I had with it!

Some people really do enjoy looking as different from RL as possible and I truly envy them.  I personally have always felt the need to have at least a few features in common with my avatar as otherwise I tend to scare myself when I look in the mirror!   But who knows, I might just decide to keep this look for a while.

Darker hair and eyebrows plus more chiseled features which I certainly don´t have in RL. The picture above, was taken in full motion as I activated Samba dances I had purchased in SL at the time when Cuba used to laugh ( yes that old! ).

The ensemble made me remember that long before twerking came along, I had grown up knowing how to move my feet, hips and shoulders to the sound of  music in a Latin-American kind of way.

From my own personal perspective (I am not Brazilian), dancing to a ¨Batucada¨ (percussion) is like a combination of Irish and belly dancing mixed in with African rhythms.

The whole of Latin America is the true melting pot of the Americas and we´ve inherited the best (and the bad, but let´s focus on the best for now hehe) of each culture and race and then mixed it all together. At no other time is this more prominent and in your face as during Carnival where there are no social barriers.

The first time I remember being exposed to a carnival, my mother took me to see the parade. I was holding her hand.  The rhythms of the band were all around me.  I can remember, even at that young age, how it first got inside my soul and heart. From there, the sound and feel travelled spreading all over my body and all of a sudden my feet began to move.

I think I must have first learnt to shake my shoulders right then and there, just as my mother got into a sudden panic in front of the church behind her.  She could not find me. Frantically, she yelled and called my name searching for me among the crowd. I could not hear her.

About to go into hysterics, she got to see me dancing along the very last row of the ¨bateria¨ belonging to the most notorious neighborhood in my country. I was two and a half years old, and yes I do have memories that far back.

Rythms and percussions were the very sound of my early years.  In school, homecoming season was always punctuated by the batucada  sound coming out of the aisles before and after class and recess for which we not only used drums but anything with which we could make a sound with.

It runs in our veins no matter what our phenotype or ancestry might be in much the same as blues do in the US. Click here to see what I mean. And if you are in the mood for some Brazilian music, I really recommend this here which is totally unrelated to this post, but it´s beautiful! 🙂

Leandro Lehart – Magalenha (My favourite Batucada)

Style Info

Pic 1

A ¨destaque¨ worth ensemble to dance your way on top of a colorful float or to lead the way as the ¨Bateria¨ Queen during carnival parade. Very elaborate, it comes with a very tiny tanga that is covered both on front and back with royal turkey feathers and jeweled baubles.

Although it has flower-petal-like nipple covers in a tattoo layer, I am not wearing them because of the mesh body I have, but one can easily manage to do without them. The bosom is protected by a jeweled harnessed bra that matches the rest of the outfit. The head is ¨crowned¨ by a marvelous piece of color explosion. A set of mesh shoes for Slink feet is included.

Boudoir – Rio in Green Blue. The Shops – Earrings. Osakki – Vintage arm cuffs and ring. Ryka – Neck plate. Hair base by The Shops worn with a Vintage Ponytail from Lelutka´s Eclat Collection (they match each other to perfection).

 

On Ash Wednesday
Ash Wednesday

Pic 2

Mohair textured short sleeved knit with a cowl neckline and a matching undershirt. The top comes with a color changing HUD for the shirt.  The cut is ample , ¨A¨ line yet slightly boxy. Cozy and comfy are the words that spring to mind. I am wearing it with their leather leggings and found the combination perfect for any casual day.

Gizza – Sophie Sweater in Cream + Leather Leggings in Stone.  Mowie – Dark Glasses.  .Shi – Ring.  Ben´s Beauty – Necklace. Pure Poison – Shoes (click here to see picture on Flickr). Hair by Entwined.

While searching for a good ¨Batucada¨, I came across this song which made me smile.  I think most of us in SL have found ourselves in this situation at least once.  Hope you see the humour of it and enjoy it !

Seu Jorge e Moska – Só no Chat

Ela disse que me ama (She says she loves me).  Ela vem com essa ( She comes with that one)
E eu nem a conheço pessoalmente (and I don´t even know her personally)
Só no chatSó na netSó na mente (Just in chat, through the net, in the mind…)

2 thoughts on “Samba no Chat

We´d Love to Hear from you !

