In my Element

Element
Element

A few days ago I took to write about the so called Island of Flowers.  Well the place actually exists in RL.  I feel more at ease in an island environment as a matter of fact, perhaps because three of my four grandparents were born in islands although different ones.

The next day after the blog,  I was invited to one of those Saturday dinners with very artsy ¨in the known¨ people.  Reluctantly I accepted the invitation.  As soon as I walked in I was introduced to a man, more or less my own age,  born and raised (complete with heavy accent) in one of the southernmost countries of the Americas.

As the evening progressed we talked a little bit about everything and once in the middle of the main course, I heard somebody say ¨yes, it´s just like all  the – insert my mother´s maiden name here.¨  

So I ask, excuse me, who mentioned my mother´s maiden name?  

The South American elegantly answered – I did!  , Well it´s my last name, he said. 

– Well it was my mother´s maiden name. I answered as my jaw dropped.

– But … he offered … we are from the Island of Flowers. 

– and so are we ! I said.

As it turned out, we were distant and unknown cousins.  Sprouting from the descendants of the three Spaniards who came to America way back then.  

Our common ancestor settled in the Island of Flowers.  The second eldest settled inland … and …

the third? I asked?

– The third, the third, well the third, by consensus, nobody knows.

Correct, nobody knows about the whereabouts of the third indeed.

Meeting each other in another place, another town and time was  truly an amazing coincidence.  He and I,  together with other friends will be going back soon, to visit the plaque were the name of our ancestors as founders of the island settlement still  stands. I´m so smiling wide, because teleports aside, sometimes RL can be simply amazing!

xoxo,

Landa

Style Info

A cotton knit maxi dress.  White on the top and stripped on the bottom and cinched at the waist with a wide leather belt with metal hardware.  The dress comes in several choices of pastel colors as well as with the ¨garden party¨like bag and sandals.

ELEMENT – Summer Dress in Sand.  Available at Sneak Peek April/May 2015 round. Truth – Hair and Hat.  Izzie´s – Coin Jewelry Set.  Miel – Bracelets worn together with  Oyen- Cape Code Double Tour Vintage Watch (Same as I have in RL but in another brand !) .

ELEMENTAL – Malena

 

7 thoughts on “In my Element

      1. Dee Darwin

        I can imagine. Life is so much about time and place can we really afford to pass up anything? Well okay Taxes and the pap test oh yes the mammogram……. okay I’ll stop now. lol

We´d Love to Hear from you !

